[REVIEW] Everneath – Brodi Ashton

everneathSummary
Characters – 4/5
Plot – 3/5
Style – 4/5
World Building – 3/5
Overall – 4/5

Quote

“Stay with me, Becks. Dream of me. I am ever your’s.”

Review
When Nikki Beckett suddenly disappeared six months ago she left her world in a state of turmoil. Her friends and family have no idea where she’s been and they wouldn’t believe her even if she told them. Taken to the Everneath, Nikki has been entwined with immortal Cole as he fed on her energy. Now she has six months left to say her final goodbyes and find forgiveness before she disappears again. This time for good.

The thing that initially drew me to this book was the plot; I love Greek mythology and the promise of a modernised Persephone myth caught my attention. It worked nicely on the whole but there are a few unanswered questions and holes once you start to dig deeper into the Everneath (the Underworld) and the premise of the Everlivings’ feeding process. Some of these are answered in the sequel, some I’m still a little confused about.

Nikki, Cole and Jack are all nicely rounded with multi-faceted personalities and motives but some of the supporting characters like Jules and Nikki’s dad felt a little flat. Ashton’s emotional style gave Nikki a really raw and honest voice which I appreciated, it suited the plot very well.

Although there is a love triangle between Nikki, Cole and her ex-boyfriend, I felt it was well explained/justified and didn’t make me want to roll my eyes like most YA romances. Nikki doesn’t tend to flit between the two boys or try to play them against each other; she’s set on what she wants to achieve with her time on the Surface and has a firm approach to it. A breath of fresh air in a genre overcrowded with indecisive and immature teases.

I have to say that I did feel like I was always one step ahead of Nikki and I definitely figured out the ending well before it happened. That could be down to my previous knowledge of the mythology Ashton drew from, but it didn’t make the book any less enjoyable in the slightest!

The organisation of the novel was clear and the non-chronological timeline kept it interesting. A combination of the present day and pre-disappearance memories, each chapter is marked with exactly how long Nikki has left on the Surface or how long until she disappears. I liked this jumping timeline as it filled in the gaps slowly, revealing the full picture of Nikki’s situation and why she chose to leave with Cole piece by piece.

EVERTRUE, the final installment in the trilogy, will be released on 21st January 2014.

Leave a Reply

