[TOP TEN TUESDAY] Best sequels

Image Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and this weeks list is the 10 best book sequels ever! I really struggled with this list as while I love series, I often find the first book is the best. For example, even though I’ve included Catching Fire in my list, Hunger Games is by far my favourite in the trilogy. It also doesn’t help that I haven’t read a lot of these series in full for a while!

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – JK Rowling
It’s always tough to pick a favourite from the Harry Potter series, but I love Azkaban purely for the Lupin and Sirius content. There’s less Voldemort so Rowling could focus on things like characterisation and plot, which definitely set up the rest of the series.

Days of Blood and Starlight – Laini Taylor
I can’t get enough of Laini Taylor’s writing, she’s amazing! The plot is so strong and Karou really grows up, I seriously can’t wait for Dreams of Gods and Monsters!

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins
Another sequel with a good plot, I loved going back into the arena with Katniss and seeing the revolution build around her.

The Eternity Cure – Julie Kagawa
The Eternity Cure was so fast paced and every turn was completely unexpected. I love the way Kagawa writes and Allie is such a great protagonist.

Son of a Witch – Gregory Maguire
Gregory Maquire has turned Oz into a dark world and it was amazing to continue Elphaba’s story with her son. The story is original and fits perfectly into this more sinister Oz.

Insurgent  – Veronica Roth
While I didn’t think Insurgent was quite as good as Divergent, I really enjoyed visiting all the factions and following Tris as she tries to uncover the truth before it’s too late.

Since I didn’t make it to 10 make sure you comment below with your suggestions and ideas! Do you tend to prefer the first book or their sequels? 🙂

14 thoughts on “[TOP TEN TUESDAY] Best sequels

    • Thank you! I think they’re both pretty popular choices this week. I wish I’d found this week easy too! There were so many I could have included but decided not to because they weren’t my absolute favourites, maybe I’m too picky! I’ll check your list out now 🙂

  1. Totally agree with your choices! I also liked Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi, Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver, The Scorch Trials by James Dasher, Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare…Darn it! There are so many great series out there!

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays: Top ten Sequels | A World of Books

Leave a Reply

