[FUN STUFF] 2013 End of year review

Image 

Hosted by the wonderful Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner, the End of Year Book Survey is a fun way to look back on 2013 through your bookshelf! Since I’ve not been blogging for the whole year I only have detailed information about a small group of books so I’ve cut some of the questions out that I can’t answer. I’ve had an amazing first few months as a bookish blogger and I can’t wait for the year ahead! I’d like to say a HUGE thank you and Happy New Year to everyone who follows, reads and comments on booklahoma and I hope to get to know you all better through 2014 🙂

Best Book You Read In 2013? 

I read so many amazing books this year, this is such a difficult question! I think my favourite scifi novel of 2013 has to be Note To Self by Peter Ward and the best YA I read is a toss up between Divergent and Daughter of Smoke and Bone!

Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2013? 

Draykon by Charlotte E. English was fantastic. I got it for free on Amazon and wasn’t expecting much for that reason but I was so, so wrong. I also really enjoyed Slated by Teri Terry, I’d been debating buying it for a long time but wasn’t convinced by the blurb. I gave it a chance and was glad I did!

Book you read in 2013 that you recommended to people most in 2013?

I feel that I’m going to be mentioning Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone a LOT in this review! I bought my sister the books for Christmas and I’m constantly telling other people to read them as well.

Best series you discovered in 2013?

Definitely Veronica Roth’s Divergent Trilogy! I read both Divergent and Insurgent within two days and had to live in torture all year waiting for Allegiant! Thanks to university work I haven’t had time to read it yet, but I’m looking forward to finally picking it up.

Favorite new author you discovered in 2013?

Laini Taylor, without a doubt. Her style is so fluid and enchanting. (I warned you!)

Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

I’ve not read a whole lot outside of my YA/fantasy/scifi bubble this year, I guess that’s a bookish resolution for 2014!

Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2013?

Note to Self by Peter Ward. I was lucky enough to get my hands on a copy through Net Galley and was completely blown away!

Book You Read In 2013 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

It’s been a while since I first read Angelfall so I might give that another read before picking up World After! I know I’ll end up re-reading a lot of complete series like Divergent and Harry Potter as well, I do that so often!

Favorite cover of a book you read in 2013?

angelfall

Most memorable character in 2013? 

There is only one acceptable answer to this question; Tiny! (Will Grayson, Will Grayson) 

Most beautifully written book read in 2013?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor. I can’t wait to review this in 2014!

Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2013? 

Silver Linings Playbook – Matthew Quick. I adored this book, I really felt for Pat. His voice is so honest and real, it’s a very powerful novel.

Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2013 to finally read? 

Slaughterhouse Five! And I’m so glad I did, I don’t think I could have appreciated it properly if I’d read it any earlier.

Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2013?

Ahhhhh so many choices! This is the first one that popped into my mind but I’m sure there are tonnes that I jotted down somewhere.

“i think the idea of a ‘mental health day’ is something completely invented by people who have no clue what it’s like to have bad mental health. the idea that your mind can be aired out in twenty-four hours is kind of like saying heart disease can be cured if you eat the right breakfast cereal. mental health days only exist for people who have the luxury of saying ‘i don’t want to deal with things today’ and then can take the whole day off, while the rest of us are stuck fighting the fights we always fight, with no one really caring one way or another, unless we choose to bring a gun to school or ruin the morning announcements with a suicide.”
Will Grayson, Will Grayson.

Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? 

The final chapter of The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa absolutely killed me. I thought I was going to burst. Never before in my life have I had a true, physical NEED for a sequel; just thinking about it is driving me up the wall again! The Forever Song isn’t due on my bookshelf until 29th April. Breeeeathe.

Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2013 (be it romantic, friendship, etc)?

I really loved the friendship between Will and Tiny in Will Grayson, Will Grayson. It was honest and felt very real. Romantically, I’m not sure I can think of a relationship that really springs out at me; I’m not usually a huge fangirl about stuff like that! Although thinking about it, Nikki and Jack were just so strong and perfect together in the Everneath series.

Favorite Book You Read in 2013 From An Author You’ve Read Previously?

I read a LOT of new authors this year, which I guess can only be a good thing! So I’ll have to go for an obvious answer and say Looking for Alaska – John Green.

Genre You Read The Most From in 2013?

Young Adult and Fantasy/Sci-fi. As always!

Most vivid world/imagery in a book you read in 2013?

I think Draykon by Charlotte E. English just pips Daughter of Smoke and Bone to the post here for the totally original concepts behind not only the main world in which the story takes place, but the two off-worlds. English created all the plants, animals and history for three completely beautiful worlds that were a pleasure to read about!

Book That Was The Most Fun To Read in 2013?

It has to be Will Grayson, Will Grayson!

Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2013?

All the John Greens, because well, John Green.

What were your favourite books of 2013? Which ones are you looking forward to in 2014? I’d love to read your recommendations!

2 thoughts on “[FUN STUFF] 2013 End of year review

  1. Daughter of Smoke & Bone is by far one of my YA favs of all time. Love it! I’ve added quite a few of the other books you mentioned to my TBR list. Thanks for the great suggestions!

Leave a Reply

