[BOUT OF BOOKS 14] Challenge 1: Fictional World Travel

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team”

The first challenge this week is to find 3-6 books that are set in a country other than where I live. I wanted to avoid fantasy or completely fictional worlds because that’s just no fun. I had a lot of dystopian American places (Chicago, New York, rural Ohio…) that I left alone as well – it was more of a challenge to find real cities!

I thought this would be a breeze to begin with, but looking through my bookshelves I realised that there are a lot more fantasy books set in England than I first imagined! In the end I was really happy with the places I chose and I’m pretty pleased with the variety I managed to pull together.

IMG_4419

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender
From the charming French village of Trouville-sur-Mer to the sprawling house on Pinnacle Lane, Seattle.

All the Bright Places
All over the wonder-filled state of Indiana.

The Accident Season
Set in a small Irish town, Cara dreams of running away to Dublin.

Slaughterhouse 5
Mainly Dresden, Germany, with the occasional visit to Tralfamadore thrown in for good measure.

Dreams of Gods and Monsters
The most well-travelled of all my choices, Karou and her army make their appearance all over the world. Rome, Prague and Marrakesh all feature alongside the many magical places in Eretz.

Let me know where your books took you travelling.

Charlotte x

Leave a Reply

